Spirit of Desert

Some of the photos can be clicked on for a larger view


From 1958 Yearbook Introducing Scorpio – the Desert High mascot was created in September 1957 by the Footprints Staff – Frances Ballinger, Co-Editor and Editor Bob Diffley. The yearbooks says, “Marching together with exact precision, the Desert Debs and Flag Twirlers have performed together many times this year. Scorpio will not have to celebrate his birthday alone as he and the Desert Debs (pictured below) were both created in September (1957): Scorpio by the Footprints Staff, and the Debs by their advisor, Mrs. Nicki Fisher.

Desert Debs From 1958 Yearbook – On either side of their leader Jan Cooper are Sandra Bowman, Ronalee Crafton, Reva Rathbun, Jerri Coats, Sandra Spain, Ella Davy, Gina Mears, Gaye Honecker, Virginia Blanchard, Margaret Barton, Linda Ferguson, Karen Eatherton, Darlene Hunt, Barbara Caldwell, Karen Rider, Mary Ellen Anderson, Martha Payne and Patti Anderson.

flag twirlers
From 1958 Yearbook -Flag Twirlers: Left to right: Lynnette Russell, Gloria Jamrozy, Gail Kinsley (head) and Karen Robinson

From 1958 Yearbook – Twirling together with flashy distinction are the seven Scorpion Majorettes Gwen Hoyt, Dianne Allen, Priscilla Strozzi, Elinor Ballinger, Carol Strier, Frances Ballinger and Brenda Thompson

Drum Major and Head Majorette
From 1958 Yearbook – Leading the Desert High Band to many honors and awards, Drum Major Alva Benoit sent thrills running through Scorpio. He marveled that at just the sound of the whistle, one hundred and twenty marching feet become silent. Preceeding the band down the street is a group of seven girls and their leader, Karyl Lariscy. This group too, has many trophies about which to boast. Sponsors of the two groups are Mr. George Thompson and Mrs. Nicki Fisher.
From 1957 Yearbook – Left to right: Barbara Caldwell, Linda Hanes, Pat Chwierut, Penney Harper

Back to Top